article: Heard the one about the child and the blood money? 23/7 – 11

Robert Fisk

Then that night I attend a foreign ministry banquet hosted by Ali Akbar Salehi, the minister himself. As I queue to leave, behind a long trail of diplomats from ”friendly” nations – I find myself cheerfully greeted by ambassadors of all kinds of unsavoury regimes – I spot an African diplomat in a magnificent floral dress. She walks up to Salehi to say goodbye. And holds out her hand. ”If I shake your hand tonight,” the foreign minister of Iran replies, quick as a flash, ”I won’t be foreign minister tomorrow morning!” Humour is good for your health…

Kommentera

